Free Press (publisher)

This article is about the book publisher. For other uses, see release Press ( disambiguation ) Free Press was an freelancer book publisher that former became an imprint of Simon & Schuster. It was one of the best-known publishers specializing in serious nonfiction, including path-breaking sociology books of the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s. After a period under fresh possession in the 1980s of publishing neoconservative books, it was purchased by Simon & Schuster in 1994. By 2012, the imprint ceased to exist as a clear-cut entity ; however, some books were hush being published using the spare Press depression. [ 1 ] [ 2 ]

history [edit ]

free Press was founded by Jeremiah Kaplan ( 1926–1993 ) and Charles Liebman in 1947 and concentrated on religion and social science. [ 3 ] They chose the mention Free Press because they wanted to print books devoted to civil liberties. It was launched with three authoritative titles : Division of Labor by Emile Durkheim, The Theory of Economic and Social Organization by Max Weber and The Scientific Outlook by Bertrand Russell. [ 4 ] It was headquartered in Glencoe, Illinois, where it was known as The Free Press of Glencoe. In 1960, Kaplan was recruited by Macmillan to provide new editorial leadership and he agreed to move to New York if Macmillan Publishing Company would buy Free Press, and thus complimentary Press was sold in 1960 for $ 1.3 million ( $ 500,000 going to Kaplan and $ 800,000 going to Liebman ). [ 4 ]

In 1994, Simon & Schuster acquired Macmillan and Free Press. [ 4 ] In 2012, it was announced that complimentary Press would cease to exist as a clear-cut entity and would be merged into Simon & Schuster, the company ‘s flagship imprint. [ 4 ] [ 1 ] “ We plan to continue publishing think leaders and other important cultural voices under the Free Press sanction, while besides introducing many other exempt Press authors, such as novelists and historians and occupation writers, to the flagship Simon & Schuster depression. ” [ 4 ] During the 1960s and 1970s detached Press was under the direction of a kind of publishers including George McCune ( who later co-founded Sage Publishing with his wife Sara ), Valery Webb, Ed Barry and Robert Wallace. [ 4 ] Under Barry ‘s leadership in 1974, Ernest Becker ‘s The Denial of Death won the Pulitzer Prize. [ 4 ] In 1983, Erwin Glikes, a long-familiar political neoconservative, took over leadership. [ 4 ] This began an era of controversial [ 4 ] conservative books including The Tempting of America by Robert Bork, and The Closing of the American Mind by Alan Bloom. [ 4 ] Glikes was succeeded by Adam Bellow, who besides published neoconservative books including Illiberal Education by Dinesh D’Souza, The Real Anita Hill by David Brock, and The Bell Curve by Charles Murray and Richard Herrnstein. [ 5 ] [ 4 ] In 1994, Simon & Schuster acquired Macmillan and Free Press was led by publishers Michael Jacobs, Paula Barker Duffy, and William Shinker for shortstop stints. [ 4 ] detached Press was led by publisher Martha Levin from 2001 until 2012, when it ceased to exist as a distinct entity and merged into Simon & Schuster ‘s flagship imprint. [ 4 ] [ 6 ] In 2003, two of the five finalists for the 2003 National Book Award in the non-fiction class were rid Press titles, including the achiever, Waiting for Snow in Havana by Carlos Eire. [ 7 ] In 2008, Free Press published The White Tiger, indian author Aravind Adiga ‘s debut novel, which won the Man Booker Prize. [ 8 ]

celebrated books [edit ]

References [edit ]

  • Free Press homepage at Simon & Schuster
  • Divisions and Imprints at Simon & Schuster
informant :
Category : Healthy